The Scholarship Holders of the Concert Saison 2016/2017

Monet Bläserquintett © Susanne Diesner

Monet Bläserquintett © Susanne Diesner

Monet Bläserquintett

The musicians of the Monet Wind Quintet Anissa Baniahmad (Flute), Johanna Stier (Oboe), Nemorino Scheliga (Clarinet), Marc Gruber (French Horn) and Theo Plath (Bassoon) are all prizewinners of national and international competitions and members in high class orchestras such as the Sinfonieorchester des Hessischen Rundfunks and the Staatsorchester Stuttgart. The individual members are in demand as chamber musicians and soloists at international festivals, e.g. the Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern and the Davos Festival.

It is not by chance that the Monet Wind Quintet has called itself after a painter. The interpretations of this ensemble are marked by a special richness in sound colour. The young musicians are being continually inspired by the countless possibilities which result from an ensemble playing five diverse instruments. Since the ensemble was founded in 2013 the musicians are bound together by an intensive schedule of rehearsals and concerts. They receive important inspiration from in particular Prof. Stephanie Winker (flute) and Norbert Kaiser (clarinet). Since 2016 the Monet Wind Quintet has been a scholarship holder of the Villa Musica Rheinland-Pfalz.

At the Deutsches Musikwettbewerb in 2016 the Quintet was awarded a scholarship and was chosen for the Bundesauswahl Konzerte Junger Kuenstler.

After the Mozart Gesellschaft Dortmund had selected all the individual members of the ensemble as scholarship holders and given them various forms of support, it was decided in 2016 to give the Monet Wind Quintet as an ensemble the support of a scholarship.